Follow Me



Council of Ministers

The Council of Ministers was established by King Abdulaziz bin Abdulrahman Al-Saud in 1953. It is made up of the King who is also the Prime Minister, the Crown Prince who is Deputy Prime Minister and Cabinet ministers. Under the bylaws announced by the Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques King Fahd bin Abdulaziz Al-Saud in September 1993, the Council is responsible for drafting and overseeing the implementation of the internal, external, financial, economic, educational and defence policies, and general affairs of the state. The Council meets weekly and is presided over by the King or one of his deputies.

On 30 April, 2003, King Fahd issued Royal Decrees renaming a number of ministries and dissolving two others effective 3 May 2003, resulting in a cabinet of 21 ministers with portfolio and 5 ministers of state in addition to himself as Prime Minister and Crown Prince Abdullah as Deputy Prime Minister. On 23 December 2003 he decreed a sixth minister of state with special responsibilities for the affairs of the Consultative Council (Majlis Al-Shura). On 22 March 2004, the Ministry of Labour and Social Services was divided into two, so that there are now 22 ministers with portfolio. On 24 July 2005, a new minister of state was appointed, with special responsibilities for foreign affairs. On 25 March 2011, King Abdullah issued a Royal Decree establishing the Ministry of Housing. After a realignment of the government on 7 May, 2016, there are now 21 ministries and 6 ministers of state, of which two have a portfolio.